Reolink camera buying guides and comparisons

Camera buying decisions

Reolink RLC-811A vs RLC-823A: power, codecs and zoom

Documented differences at a glance

Differences in reported values or documentation only. Unknown means insufficient evidence, not unsupported. See the full table for scope and sources.

Maximum power

Reolink RLC-811A
12 W
Reolink RLC-823A
24 W

Weather protection rating

Reolink RLC-811A
IP67
Reolink RLC-823A
IP66

Quick answer

The same documented optical zoom factor does not make RLC-811A and RLC-823A interchangeable. Their published PoE methods, maximum power and codec lists differ. Check the table before reusing a switch port or assuming the same recording configuration.

Compare documented camera specifications

This is a selected group of documented models, not the complete Reolink catalogue or a stock list. A missing model has not been assessed here. Open a product name for its full record.

Compare RLC-811A and RLC-823A using documented zoom, PoE methods, maximum power, codecs, weather rating and tracking records.
FeatureReolink RLC-811AReolink RLC-823A
Optical zoom factor5 ×

Reolink Support

Scope and sources5 ×

Camera hardware revision: Not specified by the reviewed evidence · Camera firmware: Not specified by the reviewed evidence

Reolink Support · Official source · Retrieved

5 ×

Reolink Support

Scope and sources5 ×

Camera hardware revision: Not specified by the reviewed evidence · Camera firmware: Not specified by the reviewed evidence

Reolink Support · Official source · Retrieved

Power methodsDC, PoE (802.3af)

Reolink Support

Scope and sourcesDC, PoE (802.3af)

Camera hardware revision: Not specified by the reviewed evidence · Camera firmware: Not specified by the reviewed evidence

Reolink Support · Official source · Retrieved

DC, PoE+ (802.3at)

Reolink Support

Scope and sourcesDC, PoE+ (802.3at)

Camera hardware revision: Not specified by the reviewed evidence · Camera firmware: Not specified by the reviewed evidence

Reolink Support · Official source · Retrieved

Maximum power12 W

Reolink Support

Scope and sources12 W

Camera hardware revision: Not specified by the reviewed evidence · Camera firmware: Not specified by the reviewed evidence

Reolink Support · Official source · Retrieved

24 W

Reolink Support

Scope and sources24 W

Camera hardware revision: Not specified by the reviewed evidence · Camera firmware: Not specified by the reviewed evidence

Reolink Support · Official source · Retrieved

CodecsH.264, H.265

Reolink Support

Scope and sourcesH.264, H.265

Camera hardware revision: Not specified by the reviewed evidence · Camera firmware: Not specified by the reviewed evidence

Reolink Support · Official source · Retrieved

H.265

Reolink Support

Scope and sourcesH.265

Camera hardware revision: Not specified by the reviewed evidence · Camera firmware: Not specified by the reviewed evidence

Reolink Support · Official source · Retrieved

Weather protection ratingIP67

Reolink Support

Scope and sourcesIP67

Camera hardware revision: Not specified by the reviewed evidence · Camera firmware: Not specified by the reviewed evidence

Reolink Support · Official source · Retrieved

IP66

Reolink Support

Scope and sourcesIP66

Camera hardware revision: Not specified by the reviewed evidence · Camera firmware: Not specified by the reviewed evidence

Reolink Support · Official source · Retrieved

Automatic trackingUnknown — no unambiguous published valueYes

Reolink Support

Scope and sourcesYes

Camera hardware revision: Not specified by the reviewed evidence · Camera firmware: Not specified by the reviewed evidence

Reolink Support · Official source · Retrieved

Unknown does not mean unsupported. Open Scope and sources beside a value to check the source date and hardware/firmware scope. Unspecified revisions are not a promise that every revision has the same feature.

The power requirement is a concrete difference

RLC-823A has the higher maximum power record and a different PoE method. The codec lists and enclosure ratings also differ in the retained manufacturer records. Tracking is documented for RLC-823A here; an unknown RLC-811A cell is not evidence that it lacks the feature. This comparison makes no blanket claim about pan/tilt controls through an external system.

Choose for a specific requirement

Before replacing one with the other

Recheck the port standard, available per-port power, total PoE budget and the codec accepted by your recording path. Read the hardware/firmware scope attached to each cell. A shared model-name prefix or matching zoom factor cannot carry a compatibility verdict from one camera to the other.

Choosing a PoE switch for Reolink cameras

Continue your camera selection

Evidence and purchasing scope

The tables use the current published capability records. Each known value links to its manufacturer source and shows its capture date and scope. We have not tested these cameras side by side. Selection is based on documented differences, independently of merchant offers; current availability, price and bundled accessories are not verified.

Methodology